First off I have to mention that this is very different than my adventure posts that I normally do. I was actually inspired by a piece I read, called Don’t Thank Me For Sharingin a newsletter I just started following.  I appreciated the author’s honesty in a topic that may be uncomfortable for some to read. So here I go with my take..

Today I had an interaction, similar to many I have had in the past in which I met a new person and we were getting to know each other. The typical questions were asked; what do you go to school for, do you have any siblings, what do your mom and dad do? It was that last question that really irked me.

How is this stranger supposed to know about my parental situation though?

So I talk about what my dad does for work, at least the little bit that I actually understand. Then I get asked, “What about your mom?” Seeing no way around answering the question I simply state “I am not in contact with my mom”.

There it is. The look of pity that comes every time someone realizes I do not have a mother in my life. The look that says ‘oh you poor thing’.

What these people do not know is that I have the world’s best father.

Okay, I may be a little biased, but he is great. I am that much better because I was raised by a single father who chose to take on both parental roles and full custody when facing divorce. He is a man who drove us to dance class or took off work early to take us out of school when we had bad cramps. I was raised by someone who devoted themselves to their children. I am not sure I could ask for much else.

We have survived as a family. Everyone graduated from high school with no criminal records or major incidents. No one has fallen off the bandwagon (not to say some of us haven’t been close to the edge). We went to the theater and never lacked for a good meal. We were able to travel the world with our father by our side.

Not only did he raise four children on his own but he raised us to be independent. To chase our dreams, whether they are across the state or across the country. To live realistically, like realizing getting a pet while you are in school full-time and working is not a good idea (even though I really want one). To not settle for living an unhappy life.

Now I do not know what my life would be like if I was raised with a mother, but I am not sure I want to know. I have no regrets about being raised the way I was because I know that it was the best he could do.

Henceforth for those who are saddened because I have no mother in my life, I do not want your pity. I do not need you feeling sorry for me because I am not sorry.

I have to accept though that pity is the response that I will get, even if I do not want it. There really is no way around it. Therefore I will just have to tell you about how awesome my dad is.

100_0711-2
My dad and I circa 2009