Well not an era so much as my time in AmeriCorps NCCC. Where have the past two years of my life gone? I have had the most wonderful time in NCCC and want to stay forever but alas I can only receive two education awards and thus my time in the program has come to an end.

In the last few days I have been thinking a lot about who am I without NCCC? Honestly the thought of not coming back to this adventure in October is terrifying. Now I have to join the real world and leave the AmeriBubble.

Before I knew it graduation reared its ugly head and all the emotions came with. I remember last year being a wreck after graduation because I had to leave some of the best people I have ever met. Now after graduation I still have those similar sentiments but I am also filled with fear of what is to come in my life.

I am nervous as all heck for Life After AmeriCorps. If you did not already know I am moving to Lincoln and attending the University of Nebraska at Lincoln studying Advertising and Public Relations. That will be a very big change from what I have spent the last two years doing.

Now that I am a two time AmeriCorps Alum I wanted to say a few thank yous.

First and foremost I want to say a big thank you to all my Team Leaders, yes even my first one who kind of sucked. Thank you for seeing the potential in me. Thank you for being encouraging. Thank you for accepting me, flaws and all. Thanks to you I have grown exponentially and know that I will never know if I am capable of something until I try it out first.

Thank you to my roommates, you know who you are. I am forever thankful that I we were chosen to be put together. Thank you for all the laughter and nights out on the town. Thank you for listening to me rant about my respective teams or problems. Thank you for being in my life to this date.

IMG_4875
I love you.

Thank you to every one of my teammates for helping me grow as a person. Thank you for teaching me new recipes, showing me how to complete a certain task at work, or sharing your religion with me. Each and every one of you have helped to expand my knowledge of the world and of myself. I will forever treasure our times together.

IMG_4876
He may of left us after first round but Daniel will be Green Five forever.

Lastly to anyone else I have not covered, thank you for what you do and for your service. Whether we only talked once, only saw each other in passing, or hung out all the time I am thankful to have been in this wonderful program with you.

IMG_4881

IMG_4891
One of my favorite people to have deep talks with in an empty Harvey’s

I could probably go on and gush forever but I think this is enough emotions for now. Class 21A Earth Unit and Class 22A Green Unit will remain in my heart forever.  I know it is a long shot but if any of you lovely NCCC alums are headed to or through Nebraska I would love to see you.

But for now I am off to my next adventure.

XOXO, Rachel

IMG_4892
My Green Five family. I will miss them.

I will get things done for America,
To make our people safer, smarter, and healthier.
I will bring Americans together to strengthen our communities.
Faced with apathy, I will take action.
Faced with conflict, I will seek common ground.
Faced with adversity, I will persevere.
I will carry this commitment with me this year and beyond.
I am an AmeriCorps Member, and I will get things done.